Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Colonial District, National Capital Area Council, BSA

 

COLONIAL DISTRICT CRIER
Volume 1, Issue #2 ONLINE EDITION August 1998


THE DISTRICT COMMITTEE AT WORK FOR YOU

Jim Poole

Vice Chairman - Membership

(H) 703-799-7046 (W) 202-565-1174

jim_poole@nps.gov

MEMBERSHIP NOTES

JOIN SCOUTING WEEK - 1998

Question: What's the Most Important Date for Every Cub Scout Leader?

JOIN SCOUTING NIGHT - 1998...because every boy needs the opportunity to become a Cub Scout!

The most important date for every Cub Scout leader is Join Scouting Night - 1998 (JSN98). JSN98 is our best opportunity to reach out and make a lasting, positive change in the life of a boy in your neighborhood. Working together, we can strengthen the most vibrant packs and give new life to struggling ones.

So plan for it now by attending the Join Scouting Night Orientation at the Colonial District Roundtable on Wednesday, August 12 from 7:30 - 9 p.m. at Aldersgate Methodist Church. Check your calendar. If you cannot make it, then attend the alternate orientation on September 1st at St. Mary's Lyceum, 313 Duke Street in Old Town Alexandria (parking available at the corner of Duke and Fairfax Streets).

Scouting in the Colonial District is very healthy. In January 1998, over 1,400 boys were registered as Cub Scouts. Our District goal is a 10% increase to be achieved by January 1999. Mark your calendar for August 12 or September 1 and for the week of September 14 - 18 this year to mark the most important night in the life of your pack - Join Scouting Night - 1998.

Need more information? Call or email Jim Poole at 799-7046 jim_poole@nps.gov, Mike Porter at 425-8489 porter@iname.com, or Paul Kosmicki at 280-4044 kosmicki@juno.com.

Scouting Doesn't Just Happen. People Like You Make It Happen!

EXPLORER POSTS AND VENTURE CREWS

Colonial District Scouters: If you have Scouts in your units who are at least 14 years of age, they are invited to join an Explorer Post or Venture Crew. It is important for older Scouts to accomplish their leadership responsibilities in their troops AND to have opportunities for advanced training in Exploring and Venturing programs. For this reason, a Scout may continue his registration in his Troop and register in a Post or Crew. Several opportunities are now available and your Scouts should be encouraged to take advantage of them. Just call or email the adult advisor at the number below and let them know of your interest.

Aviation Alexandria

Gary Gomez gomez-gary@bah.com

736-0713

Environment Alexandria

Laura Bridgewater lbridgewater@wef.org

684-2400

Scuba Diving Alexandria

Jim Poole jim_poole@nps.gov

799-7046

Sea Exploring Alexandria

Davis Jones jones.davis@epa.gov

979-6578

Computers Springfield

Kim Hannemann khannemann@worldbank.org

569-9234

Radio/ Communications Alexandria

Demi Pulas

820-2534

Backpacking/ Rock Climbing Springfield

Linda Ownby ownbyfam@hotmail.com

451-2842

Backpacking Geo.Mason Univ.

Marilynn Borokowski marilynnb@juno.com

352-7236

High Adventure Mt. Vernon

Tom Earley tearley@promarinternational.com

780-8476

Safe Rides Alexandria

Donald Sharland donalds007@aol.com

751-7034

High Adventure Springfield

Marshall Nolan

451-2476

Exploring and Venturing mean ADVENTURE. Thousands of teenagers throughout America are already experiencing this adventure.

What About Your Scouts?


PREVIOUS PAGE NEXT PAGE


Copyright 1998

[Home Page] [Calendar] [District Map] [E-Mail List] [Newsletters] [People] [Scout Links] [Units]